No Place Like Home

I've been back since Saturday I had a wonderful time visiting a couple of cousins and my uncle, mom's younger brother.  We went to the  Mohican (we are related to this tribe) Indian reservation in Wisconsin.  I found out my Great ,Great, Great, Great Grandfather, Hendrick Aupaumut was a captain in the Revolutionary War and was awarded a sword by President Washington. I had never heard this before, so I found it very interesting.  On Friday we went to Niagara Falls it was absolutely beautiful.  We took a boat, the Maiden Mist which got so close to Horse Shoe Falls I couldn't see anything because of the mist from the falls.  All to soon our week was up and we headed home, but you know, there is no place like home, especially your own bed.
 My dog Peppy gave me the cold shoulder Saturday and Saturday night, I guess he was mad because I left him for a week.  Sunday he was back to his ole self again, my punishment was over.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to No Place Like Home

  1. Grandma-P says:

    Thanks I'll check it out.

  2. jacolily says:

    I definitely hope to go to Niagara Falls someday.

  3. Amy Sue says:

    Beautiful photo of Niagra Falls!
    So cool about the ancestory information you found! My maternal grandmother was 1/4 Cherokee…I'd love to research the family line there…someday!
    LOL @ Peppy! 🙂

  4. Grandma-P says:

    It is a must see, absolutely beautiful.

  5. Grandma-P says:

    I was really surprised we could trace part of my ancestry back that far. As far as Peppy goes, I have never owned a dog that is such an independent thinker. Most dogs are very subservient but not Pep he does things on his own terms and only if he feels like it. What a rascal.

  6. Steve Betz says:

    Sounds like a great trip. I always liked Wisconsin, though never had been to Niagara Falls either. Welcome home!

  7. Grandma-P says:

    One thing that really sticks out to me in Wisconsin and in up state New York is how deep green the trees and other vegetation are. So very beautiful. Next time you go east you should make it a point to see the falls.

Leave a Reply

