This Is Going To Hurt

I went to the doctor today to have a mole removed from my cheek.  The doctor got a syringe with Novocain and said, "this is going to hurt" I'll say, it hurt like crazy.  He then immediately started to burn the mole off, he said, " let me know if it hurts," I said "it hurts", he didn't stop, I said "ah THAT BURNS"!!! He say's "I'm done".  If he is going to bother sticking me with Novocain wouldn't it be a good idea to wait until my cheek was numb.  Wouldn't it?  I had tears running down my cheeks, but did he seem the least bit remorseful, no.  The end.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to This Is Going To Hurt

  1. AngieK says:

    Your Dr. sounds like a meanie with no bedside manner. Andy had a mole removed but his tale is much different and his doctor sounded nice.

  2. jacolily says:

    I am so sorry! I had 2 moles removed from my back in college. It was quite painful afterwards but they were cut out. I didn't know they could burn them. Why even bother with the Novocaine? I bet you won't be going back.

  3. Kelly says:

    That is so awful! 😦 I'm sorry, too.

  4. Mello says:

    That's weird that he didn't even wait for the novocaine to take effect! I'm sorry too, that it was painful for you.

  5. Grandma-P says:

    This same doctor removed two moles in the past and everything went OK.

  6. Grandma-P says:

    At least it didn't hurt after he was finished.

  7. Grandma-P says:

    Note to self…don't make appointment for the last patient of the day. Doc must have been in a hurry to go home.

  8. Steve Betz says:

    Boo to your doctor!! 😦 Hopefully your family showered you with goodies to help ease the pain.

  9. shellakers says:

    You POOR thing! This is precisely the reason I hate most doctors.
    For the record, I've just had that experience when the surgeorn had to re-open my scar. He gave me a shot of novacain and didn't wait for it to work either. I SCREAMED! lol
    You did good if you didn't strangle the jerk. I hope the mole is not a bad one:-)

  10. Grandma-P says:

    No, but I was fine and it didn't hurt at all after he stopped zapping my cheek.

  11. Grandma-P says:

    I was with my Mom when the doc had to re-open her scar to drain it, same scenario. I think they are in too big of a hurry to wait for the med to take effect, after all it doesn't hurt them.

  12. Sue says:

    Like your reaction, Shellakers – scream!

    Seriously – doctors do sometimes seem to "forget" patients feel pain.
    I noticed my daughter pulling a face when the doctor tried to move her sprained ankle about. He was looking at the ankle, not the facial expression, so I said to her "Does that hurt?" to alert him.
    I also told her later that you have to say "Ouch!" and make a little fuss, or they don't know it hurts and they'll think it's ok to carry on. I always do!
    Sometimes been tempted to slap their hand away too, but by the grace of God have refrained so far!

    Think of it this way- you are training your health professional in the niceties, so another patient after you might get a better deal. Or yourself next time! πŸ™‚

  13. Grandma-C says:

    He couldn't wait for it to numb, that would have taken more than the five minutes you were allowed..

  14. Grandma-P says:

    I'm glad I didn't try to slap his hand away, he had a laser aimed at my face. This is the first time I've ever had a bad experience at his office so I'll forgive him this time.

  15. Grandma-P says:

    I guess being the last patient of the day didn't help.

  16. I also say boo to your doctor.

  17. smeutaw says:

    Hrmph – where is the bedside manner these days? Hope you heal quickly and continue to feel no pain!

  18. Grandma-P says:

    Thanks, it doesn't hurt and is healing fine.

  19. Free! says:

    That was short and very painful…here is a kiss for the boo-boo.I remember as a teen having two moles burnt off and them sticking me. Ouch!

  20. Lauren says:

    my boyfriend's mom got hers removed a long time ago, but she didn't have any Novocaine. maybe she was better off lOl. glad it feels better!

  21. Grandma-P says:

    Thanks, Novocaine doesn't work instantly, next time I'll make the doctor wait awhile, if there is a next time.

Leave a Reply

