Case Of The Missing Son

 

Last night the telephone rang at 11:45, its one of our sons, "Um, my car is in a closed parking lot in Washington DC and I need a ride ".  "OK, be on H street and Dad and I will pick you up".  On our way to DC I realized neither one of us had our cell phones, but we figured after mid-night how hard would it be to find our son standing at a corner on H street.  We must have canvassed H street at least six times plus a few other streets,and still no _____ (his name will remain nameless).  At this point we were about ready to give up and let him sleep on the street (not really but the thought did enter my mind).  We were angry at him for not checking to see what time the parking lot closed.  We were mad at ourselves for not having our cell phones.  I was mad at my self for not knowing phone numbers by heart (they are programmed in my phone so therefore I never bothered to put the numbers to memory) so even if I could get to a phone I couldn't call ____ to find out why he wasn't on H street. What to do, what to do, I did know one number by heart but I knew that phone would only ring four times and what would be the chance of waking that son to get ____'s cell number.  I couldn't believe my eyes but on H  street at around one something in the morning a CVS drug store was open. We parked , went in, explained to the clerk why I needed to use a phone and she was nice enough to let me use it.  I knew it was a long shot but I called the phone that was only going to ring four times, low and behold on the second ring I heard a voice that said I'm talking to ____ on my cell phone right now, he is on Eighth St.  not H St. and so the case of the missing son was solved.  For now the P's are living happily ever after, but with a family our size I'm sure a new adventure awaits.  

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Case Of The Missing Son

  1. Mello says:

    The mom in me got that scared where-is-my-kid feeling inside when I read that. I'm glad it all worked out (eventually)!

  2. Grandma-P says:

    Its surprising even though my children are adults when they need help, I still get that "scared where-is-my-kid feeling inside ". I'm sure I'll still feel that way when they are in their sixties.

  3. Mello says:

    I'm guessing that probably never goes away.

  4. jacolily says:

    Yikes, I bet you were really getting worried! I'm glad it was just a simple misunderstanding.

  5. AshbyChick says:

    Whew! Glad you found him! He owes you big time!

  6. Kate says:

    I'm glad you found him! I have the hardest time navigating DC as it is!

Leave a Reply

